Construction Awards Gala

Each November, the AGC of Missouri hosts the Construction Awards Gala.  The awards gala features two very special awards programs, the Construction Keystone Awards and the Specialty Contractor of the Year Awards.

Whether or not they are up for an award, AGC members flock to the awards gala.  In recent years attendance has been upwards of 450 offering a great evening of food and excitement while also providing great networking opportunities for our members.

The AGC of Missouri also publishes a mini-magazine covering the entire event which is distributed to site selection firms nationwide, consumers of construction throughout Missouri and neighboring states and AGC members.  Click here to view the 2018 publication.

Construction Keystone Awards

The Keystone Awards began in 1998 and honors the achievements of Missouri’s construction firms and their employees in building the facilities that support and enhance quality of life.  A Keystone Award recipient exhibits excellence in providing solutions to unique obstacles and challenges specific to their project.  This award is not given on beauty but is based on achieving solutions during construction for the challenges faced by contractors.

Members are encouraged to submit projects for the Keystone Awards program by June of each year in specific categories so that similar projects are grouped together. There are categories for General and Specialty Contractors, Building construction and Industrial/Infrastructure construction and each category is grouped by the financial size of the project.  Submitted projects are then judges by a panel of industry experts representing architectural, engineering, sustainability, and construction education.

Member firms whose projects are selected as Finalist by the judging panel then submit additional information for final judging by the panel.  The award winners are not announced until the Construction Awards Gala.

Specialty Contractor of the Year Awards

The Specialty Contractor of the Year (SCOTY) Awards began in 2011 and are selected by AGC’s General Contractor members via secret ballot.  SCOTY Awards are given in 12 disciplines:

Ancillary Services
Earthwork & Utilities
Environmental Remediation & Demolition
Int. & Ext. Finishes, Openings & Fixtures
Plumbing & Fire Protection
Structural & Finish Carpentry
Structural & Finish Metals
Thermal & Moisture Protection

The Specialty Contractor with the most votes in a specific discipline is award the FIRST PLACE Specialty Contractor of the Year award in that discipline.  In addition, the Specialty Contractor with the most votes overall is named the AGC of Missouri Specialty Contractor of the Year.

Keystone Heritage Award

Since 2007 as part of the Keystone Awards, the AGC has presented the Keystone Heritage Award to a project or individual that has made an outstanding contribution to the construction landscape prior to the inception of the Keystone Awards.  The recipient of the Heritage Award must meet one or more of the following criteria:
  • There must have been a lasting and significant impact by the individual or the project on the statewide construction industry.
  • The historic impact of the individual or the project must be evident.
  • There must have been innovation in creation or application of construction techniques on the project or by the individual during their career.

Recipients of the Heritage Award include:

Year     Recipient (owner if applicable)
2007     Eads Bridge (City of St. Louis)
2008     I.E. Millstone
2009     St. Louis Public Water System (City of St. Louis Water Department)
2010     Sen. Christopher “Kit” Bond
2011      St. Louis Arch
              (National Parks Service)
2012      Basilica of St. Louis, King of France
              “The Old Cathedral”
              (St. Louis Archdiocese)
2013      Initial Mile of the Interstate Highway System (MoDOT)
2014      Forest Park (City of St. Louis & Forest Park Forever)
2015      Missouri Botanical Gardens
2016      Bagnell Dam
2017      Al Fleischer & Dick Mantia
2018      The Fabulous Fox Theatre